My musings on life

Exciting changes around every corner

Good morning and welcome to the latest edition of what’s new at the zoo.  Okay, well, not really, but that’s how it feels sometimes.  So, for those of you who haven’t heard, I have decided I want to be a Cast Member and work for Disney.  I’m sure this isn’t news to all of you, but to some it may be.  Disney only allows one to apply for any jobs once every six months.  Since I foolishly applied for a job I wanted, but clearly wasn’t qualified for, back in October, I have been waiting and waiting and waiting for the day to arrive when I could once again apply to work for the Mouse.

Conveniently, I suppose, during this time, no positions that I really wanted were available.  Realistically, I can’t move to the Orlando area right now, as much as I would love to, due to the housing market here in Bradenton.  So, the only real option for me is to work at the Disney Reservation Center in Tampa.  This is a job that I would actually dream about.  Getting paid to help plan others vacations to Walt Disney World, isn’t this what we all do in our spare time anyways?  I applied for the job last year and was offered it, but didn’t take it because they wanted me to start four days later.  Silly me, I didn’t want to quit my job at the time and not give two weeks notice.  Little did I know I would later be laid off by said job in November.  Hindsight 20/20 yada yada yada.

I’m actually glad the timing didn’t work out then.  Why, you may ask?  Well, here’s the deal.  If I had taken that job in March, chances are I wouldn’t have been able to take the five days for Epic October that was my introduction to so many of you.  That was the beginning of the end, in a good way, for me as it was my induction into the Disney online community.  I wouldn’t have been able to take five trips in seven weeks over November and December, again preventing me from meeting some of my now best friends.  This was a blessing in disguise, really.  An answer to prayer that I didn’t even know I needed.  I hated my previous job, hence the reason for applying to work for Disney while I still worked there.  I had a feeling more Disney in my life could only be  a good thing.

So here I stand, on the precipice of a new beginning in my life.  I only have things to look forward to at this point.  The new job, Traditions, enjoying the perks of being a CM, seeing so many friends over the next couple of months during Everest weekend, Destination D, I hope my first Star Wars Weekend, friends visiting from all over, friends moving to Orlando, then in October my longest trip to the World ever – ten days!  I just wouldn’t trade any of the amazing experiences and trips over the past few months for anything.  The friends that I continue to make, the relationships that are only made stronger by each visit, these are the things that make me so appreciate this journey and I will look back on it fondly.  I still have a roof over my head, I’m still paying my bills, and my life is richer now despite the lack of money than it has been in years and that is thanks to the countless friends I have made through Disney and the wonders of Twitter and Facebook.  Thank you all for being my ‘ohana.

10 responses

  1. I cannot wait to see what the future holds for you. One thing is certain, you will be amazing no matter what! SO happy to be your friend and a part of this wonderful, ever-changing, constantly growing-for-the-better group! xoxo

    April 26, 2011 at 3:40 pm

  2. Beautiful! Funny how God works. So glad everything has worked out the way it has! Happy to have you in my life Bets 🙂

    April 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm

  3. I am soooo excited for what lies in store for you, and that I get to be a part of it!!!!!

    “The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.”

    April 26, 2011 at 4:04 pm

  4. You simply never know how things are going to work out. My husband got laid off 24 hours before our daughter was born; I spent the last week of my pregnancy, with the threat of redundancy hanging over us, crying and fretting about it, we moved in with my parents to save money… I tell you, it couldn’t have been a more stressful few weeks (apart from the birth itself, which was thankfully perfect).

    But you know what? We discovered that we had a rock-solid marriage that could deal with children, moving and job loss all simultaneously! And five months later Ashley got a job he enjoyed far more than the one that had let him go, working with charities, which he’d wanted to do for ages. It even pays a little better!

    So… what was it Walt said about a kick in the teeth being the best thing for you even when you don’t know it at the time?! I think you’re finding that too. Damn him for being right so much of the time. 😉

    I can see from the other comments and lurking around the fringes of the Disney crew on Twitter that you have amazing friends and that’s even better than anything the job can offer you (though obviously I wish you the very best with that too!).

    April 26, 2011 at 4:14 pm

  5. Lynn

    You’re an amazing person and will excel at whatever you decide to do along your journey. Prayers and pixie dust that you’re offered (and able to accept) a job you will truly love that “fits” into your life and brings you as much happiness as you bring other people. If nothing else, you can come take care of Goofy and Troublemaker Jr for me! 🙂

    Best wishes in all you do!!

    April 26, 2011 at 5:14 pm

  6. Congratulations!

    Sometimes change is scary, but in this case, I bet it will be magical!

    April 26, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  7. @imacdan

    Great post! One door closes, another opens! I wish nothing but the best for the future! I can’t wait to meet you in person.

    April 26, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  8. This is a fantastic post!! Way to go…in my eyes you are rich because you are happy doing what you are doing. I am looking forward to following you on this journey.

    April 27, 2011 at 3:12 am

  9. Good for you! We WILL meet at Destination D!!! Considering we live in the same time it is funny we will meet 90 minutes away from home.

    April 27, 2011 at 3:16 am

  10. Sally

    Awesome! And good luck on the interview!

    April 27, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

