My musings on life

Start of Something New

As some of you may know, I have recently started a new job.  I hope that it is more than just that.  I truly believe that this is the start of something new to borrow from a High School Musical song with a slightly different context.  The position I have accepted is with Walt Disney World at the Reservation Center.  I will be helping people all over the world plan their trips to the Most Magical Place on Earth.  This may not sound like everyone’s dream job, but for me, to get paid to sit and talk to people on the phone all day about the incredible vacation dreams they have and to help make those dreams become a reality is perfect.

Traditions was the first step in this journey and for some reason my friends were more excited for it than I was.  I just couldn’t quite wrap my head around the fact that my dream was becoming a possibility and not an unattainable lofty aspiration.  I love Disney (in case you weren’t aware) and cannot honestly recall a day in the past year where a single day passed without me speaking, reading, chatting online or tweeting about something Disney related.  The dreams I had to be immersed in and a part of the magic were coming to fruition.

Some may not know that I interviewed for this same position last year in March and was actually offered the job, but was unable to take it then due to bad timing.  I’ve said it before, but I am so glad that I didn’t take it then. There are literally hundreds of friends who are now in my life that wouldn’t have been if I had taken the job then, didn’t lose my job last year and wasn’t able to take the numerous trips that ended up changing my life for the better in so many ways.  Yes, loss can be a good thing every once in a while.

So Traditions was a mix of fun and games, learning about Walt and the history of the company, Safe-D begins with me, policies and procedures, and a small field trip.  As with many orientation/introduction days, the class began with icebreakers at our tables talking about some of our most cherished memories.  At this point I was pegged in my group as a) the most knowledgeable and b) the one who would break down and cry first.  One of these proved to be true.  I only teared up a few times throughout the day, but it was amazing seeing Walt seemingly talk directly to us a new cast members.

The trip into the Magic Kingdom was short, but interesting.  We entered the utilidors behind the new Fantasyland expansion and traveled up to Main Street USA.  Along the way we saw some Pirates of the Caribbean cast members at whom I screamed Pirates! out of excitement, and I love that they all screamed back “where?” in unison.  They were even keeping the magic alive for me in the backstage area. We looked around the Liberty Square area for examples of some of the ideas we had learned in the classroom.  After the brief time onstage we went back down in the utilidors to the Mouseketeria, where I was very happy to be able get a Subway sandwich.  When we finished lunch we went back to the classroom at Disney University for more learning, role playing and games.

Overall, the day went very quickly and felt more like playtime than work and before we knew it, it was done.  I have now completed my first week of training at DRC, passed my first test and I am only weeks away from actually taking reservations on the phone. Oh, and by the way, my stage name is Cecelia.  They all seemed to be musically themed and I’m glad I didn’t get stuck with Beyonce, Dionne or Sakura because I would have had a hard time selling those as my name.  The people in my class are a lot of fun, not too many are Disney fans, or at least not yet.  I have been forbidden from answering the questions about property since I know too much.  I was also accused of being a plant from WDW.  This is all in fun, but I’m looking forward to what the future holds.  This is a foot in the door and a step toward an amazing new career, I just know it.  Moving onward and upward, creating magic, to infinity and beyond!

5 responses

  1. I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!!!!! And so super proud, I cannot even explain it. Love you!! xoxoxox

    June 22, 2011 at 4:14 pm

  2. Congratulations, Betsy! It sounds like things are going exceedingly well, and you certainly deserve it for nothing but the joy and humor you bring to my Twitter feed every day. Good luck!

    June 22, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  3. I’m so happy for you and so very proud of you for taking steps to make your dreams come true. It sounds like such an amazing job and I know you’ll excel at it!

    June 23, 2011 at 8:16 pm

  4. Carolyn Gates

    Hi, I am soon to be a cast member at WDW myself. If my employment agency can reason with Disney and cut the red tape in time, I’ll be in quicker than a snap. I’m hoping to start in retail. It’s really good to kind of know what I may be up against as I go into the inner workings of WDW for the first time myself.

    I’m very happy that you were able to get in and live your dream job also. (It took a big leap of faith for me to get out of a pointless job in order for me to live mine!)

    I’m hoping to see you at WDW sometime. 🙂 Who knows? The possibilities are endless…

    June 25, 2011 at 12:50 am

  5. I am enjoying reading your blog! Enjoy your new dream job. Sounds like a fun job.

    July 15, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

