My musings on life

Just Keep Swimming

You know the saying don’t let the man bring you down, right? Well, the same is true of friends. People change. Things change. This is one of life’s constants. Le plus choses changes le plus choses restes la meme. You have to embrace the good in life and excise the toxic. I hope that life is all good for everyone all the time, but this just isn’t the case. I do live in the real adult world and understand there are challenges. God knows I’ve had my fair share over the past few weeks. Nonetheless, it makes me sad when these things happen. You are cruising along and come to a roadblock and have to address the fact that the road is under repair. Sometimes you are able to take a detour and get back on track to where you were once heading, but other times you change your course and destination completely.

It is how you handle these issues that defines your character. Are you able to step back and reevaluate things to see if things can be salvaged or do you just throw in the towel at the first hint of trouble? Life goes on, and hopefully you are able to work things out and just keep swimming. Other times it is just best for things to move on in separate directions due to irreconcilable differences. One of my favorite quotes that has stuck with me is “Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it.” I know I could have handled things differently and didn’t like the outcome, but if things are going to be the way they are, so be it. I just hope that eventually people could work out their differences and be civil and not do things in backhanded, passive aggressive, immature emotional ways. If you want to come up with a solution, you must first discuss the problem.

Sorry this post isn’t all rainbows and kittens, but it needed to be said. On the up side, things with work are going well. Property tour continues today. I can’t believe I’m getting paid to go and walk around the resorts and take pictures and see rooms. I know, it is a rough life I lead sometimes. Hope you all have a happy hump day and that you have calm waters ahead.

One response

  1. I’m so sorry you came to a roadblock. If you ever need to vent, I’m here.

    I’m also so glad to hear work’s going so well. It sounds like a great time 🙂

    July 13, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Leave a Reply

