My musings on life

Ride like the wind

Just checking in with an update about what’s new at the zoo with me.  Work is going pretty well, so far.  I’ve been placed in the repeater community, which means I won’t be speaking with most of you worldphiles, but my friends will.  The perks of working for Disney are great, but more importantly, I really enjoy what I’m doing.  The guests, for the most part, are great and a lot of fun to talk to.  I get to hear about these amazing trips that people are planning and I share a little part in creating some magical memories.  One of my favorite things is learning about how families decide to tell their kids about the trips.  🙂  I’m still getting adjusted to the schedule and the 100 mile round trip commute, but overall it is a good thing.

I love my friends and cherish the time I get to spend with them in and out of the parks.  This past week, I had one of the most enjoyable times with one day out of the parks, hanging with friends at DTD and at the Clubhouse.  I finally got to see Harry Potter and loved it!  Thanks to AFP for joining me at the movie and for lunch with Chris at Raglan Road.  An amazing time was had at Chef Mickey’s for my first time.  We had some great laughs and it was probably a good thing we were eating at such a late hour and weren’t surrounded by kids.  😉 



Friday was one of the most incredible days ever.  I spent 16 hours in three parks, both solo and with friends.  I started out the day by sleeping in, knowing I was planning a long day in temps with the heat index over 100.  By the time I got my act together I rolled into DHS a little before noon.  I spent four glorious hours just doing what I wanted and really enjoyed it hitting some of my favorites: Great Movie Ride, Toy Story, Animation Academy, Muppetvision 3d, and saw Disney Junior Live on Stage for the first time since they added the Jake and the Neverland Pirates segment.  I grabbed some lunch and a frozen coke in between and some trivia at Sid’s and I called it an afternoon before heading to Epcot to meet friends for dinner.

After meeting Shalon, Shelley, Dave, Zoe and Scarlett, and running into Jay, we had a great meal at Rose & Crown before watching Illuminations from France.  The evening continued at Babycakes for dessert with the Perlmutters before it took an epic turn.  Shalon and I went to EMH at the MK from 12 – 3am and met up with Scott Otis for a bit.  We had an extremely memorable ride on Big Thunder, learned something new about the Magic Carpets of Aladdin, and walked onto Dumbo for the first time in our lives – didn’t even require boarding passes.

Shalon quickly learned that I am not very adept at the self portrait pics with flash on my phone (something about seven takes on Snow White may have clued her in).  Before you all start screaming about flash photography on a dark ride, I assure you we were the only ones on the ride, so nobody else’s ride experience was harmed in the making of our crazy pics.  A similar experience may or may not have occurred on Winnie the Pooh (again, no children were scarred in the process), but with fewer takes.  I got better.  Give me a break, I have a front facing camera for a reason.

After I kicked a little ass on Buzz, then Astro Orbiter, and another ass kicking on Buzz, we headed to the hub to get some awesome pictures of an almost empty park at 3:15am.  There were some epic memories made that night that I will never forget: empty Main Street, the kiss goodnight at 3:45, a private ride on a resort launch back to Poly at 4am, dole whips at Captain Cook’s at 4:15am, and bed around 5:30.  This made getting up at 9 to meet friends for breakfast at Cracker Barrel a little challenging, but it was so worth it.  I can only hope that this weekend is just as fun and friend filled.  Hope you all are well.  Keep on dancin, singin’, movin’, doin’ whatever you are doin’, and don’t forget to ride like the wind Bullseye!  Be excellent to each other!

Peace out,

BB

3 responses

  1. Shelley

    That was an amazing couple of days…let’s top it this time!!!!!

    August 10, 2011 at 3:46 pm

  2. Amy Falk Petermann

    Thanks for hanging out with me too- I really enjoyed our Movie and Raglan Road time together!!

    August 10, 2011 at 4:11 pm

  3. Shalon

    One of my favorite Disney nights ever!!!!

    August 10, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

