My musings on life

A Day At DAK

I don’t know if I have mentioned this or not before, but Disney’s Animal Kingdom is not my favorite park by a long shot.  In fact, it would definitely rank fourth out of the parks without any hesitation.  That being said, I will still take my least favorite Disney park over any other theme park.  When my friend John suggested that we meet there for a morning at DAK, I have to admit that I was less than thrilled.  However, I hadn’t seen John in months and was willing to make the sacrifice to see my friend.

Shelley and Zoe were also missing John and were along for the adventure that day.  We surprisingly got our butts there on time for rope drop, everyone else’s first time for opening at DAK.  The show was short, but nice with Mickey, Minnie and Pluto welcoming us all to let the adventure begin.  First point of order was to ride Kilimanjaro Safari since I hadn’t been on it since I got my new camera last fall.  I had heard that the animals were more likely to be out first thing in the morning, so we were off on a two week journey.

I have honestly never seen more animals out and about than on this particular safari.  We had an entertaining driver and I was happy to be able to experience the bridge effect again for the first time in a while.  After returning to Harambe, we grabbed a quick breakfast at Pizzafari before heading to the Festival of the Lion King.  This is one of my favorite shows across property and as always, I thoroughly enjoyed the tumble monkeys.  🙂

Expedition Everest was our next stop, which I don’t ride, but John, Shelley and Zoe loved it.  Since it was Animal Kingdom hot, we opted to get a quick bite to eat at Restaurantosaurus in the nice air conditioning.  Shelley and Zoe had never seen Finding Nemo the Musical, so John and I insisted they see it.  Well, at least one of the two liked it. 😉  Our last stop of the day was It’s Tough To Be A Bug, again seeking refuge inside air conditioned goodness.  We hit a couple of shops on the way out and parted ways.  All in all, it was a much more enjoyable day than I had expected.  I give full credit for this to the company I was with.  Here are some of the pictures from this memorable day with friends.  Enjoy.

🙂  BB

Leave a Reply

