My musings on life

Gearing up for Epic October 2.0

Many of you may be coming to Walt Disney World in the next week for what has been dubbed by many in the online Disney community as “Epic October.”  I am one of those people.  The events and meets are beyond numerous.  It seems that most podcasts, fansites and trip planning websites are having meet and greets throughout the few days surrounding next weekend.  I find myself trying to juggle the daunting list of everything that is going on.  Don’t get me wrong, I am so looking forward to hopefully being able to accomplish a fraction of what shows on my google calendar right now.

To give you an idea of what I’ve got going on, here is a condensed list of some of the things I’m currently planning on trying to at least put in an appearance at: AllEars meet, Be Our Guest Podcast meet, cast preview of Food & Wine, Disney Parks Blog Trick or Meet Up, Magic Kingdom 40th Anniversary, Lou Mongello’s 40 hour show, Disney Food Blog’s Foodie Fest and Snack Attack, Touring Plans Meet, Disney Halloween 5K,  Walt Disney World Moms Panel meet, a fireworks on the Grand 1 on October 1st, Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party on October 2nd, and meals with friends.  I am tired just thinking about all the running around and that doesn’t even include play time in the parks.  Granted, I am at WDW for 12 days straight (yipee!), but I kind of like to slow my roll every once in a while and not go all crazy rope drop to park close since I do tend to be in the parks three out of four weeks of the month.  How are you all planning on balancing?

Last year’s Epic October was the beginning of the end for me, but in a good way.  Prior to a year ago, I had never been to WDW with anyone other than family and a few friends over the years.  Never could I have imagined how one weekend could complete transform and ameliorate my life.  I have friends from the past year that I cannot even begin to picture my life without them in it.  They have made my life more complete (cheesy, I know, but so ridiculously true).  Some of my best friendships have been forged through the trials and tribulations over the last year and have bonded us even closer together.  I have people I know personally in the parks literally every single day.  My life is better because of the Disney online community.  Sure, it isn’t always sunshine, but you have to have some rain to get the rainbows and to appreciate the sun that much more.  I have learned so many important life lessons from you all and want to thank you all for improving my life.  I love you and so appreciate how you are always there for me and have my back through my goofiness, dark moments, and to sit in silence sometimes cause that is all that is needed.

So, enough sappiness, for now.  I think what I am most looking forward to is the quiet (or not so quiet) moments with my friends.  Not so important is the “where were you on the 40th,” but to me the “damn, that was a great time at Rose & Crown just chilling with my friends for three hours.”  I cherish those moments more than the hoopla.  Again, don’t get me wrong, there will certainly be some celebration and reverence for the 40th, but my focus will be more on quality time with my friends than racing around just to make sure I put in an appearance at each and every event.  Do you agree?  How are you planning on managing your time and social schedule next weekend?  Let me know, because I am still open to suggestions.

2 responses

  1. Shelley

    Love you, Bets!!!!! I can’t wait to see ya!!!!

    September 25, 2011 at 8:27 pm

  2. Good luck girl! I don’t know how you’re going to do it all but I know you’ll figure it out and have a great time in the process!! 🙂 Hope everything else is going well for you. It’s been way too long since we’ve chatted. ((hugs))

    September 27, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Leave a Reply

