My musings on life

525,600 minutes

Do you remember the first time you heard a song that really resonated with you?  Back about ten years ago at Epcot there was this great a capella group named American Vybe that alternated with Voices of Liberty between shows of the American Adventure.  I first heard the song Seasons of Love from the Broadway show Rent (which I’m ashamed to admit I still haven’t seen yet) performed by American Vybe and it immediately struck me.  How do you measure a year in your life?

The past year has been a tremendous one filled with ups and downs, gains and losses, good and bad, the facts of life.  As I’ve mentioned before, my first foray into the Disney community was Epic October last year, and wow, has it been an incredible year since.  This year’s trip was even more amazing than last year due to pulling off a surprise seven months in the making, seeing tons of friends, running my sixth consecutive Disney 5K, and more events than I could have imagined.

So now we are on the precipice of Reunion 2011.  This marks the one year anniversary of meeting so many of my friends. I can’t wait to see many of them again and to create more memories that will last me through the next year.  We have spent hours in La Cava together, made a few trips around Tomorrowland in the Peoplemover, seen Osborne lights, and have experienced Animal Kingdom hot more than a few times.  I cherish these snapshots (and some videos) that I have engraved in my mind and play them back often.

Just this morning I spent a few minutes watching back some of my favorite Youtube videos of and from friends, bringing back floods of memories of when and how we met.  Kimonos for karaoke will always hold a special place in my heart, as will us taking over practically the entire dance floor at Atlantic Dance Hall.  Backscratchers at Tambu Lounge, various meets throughout the year, birthdays, pregnancies, and practically any reason is enough to bring us to WDW to celebrate together.

I feel like I don’t say it enough, but the people who have come into and stayed in my life for the last year are some of the best people I have ever met.  They are so giving, caring, fun loving and supportive.  I am grateful for their friendships and cherish these memories and relish the thought of making more over the years to come.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

